Twelfth Day of Christmastide, An Eiphany

AN EPIPHANY

Beuron2EpiphanyOk, yesterday was January 6 and that was Epiphany. Of course, most churches celebrated on Sunday.  Epiphany is the celebration of the Three Magi, who finally reached their destination and met the wonder of God in human form, aka, the baby Jesus.   It’s an incredible day.

Yesterday brought out the very human side of me, however it also led to one of the greatest days I’ve had in a while.

Mondays tend to be quite busy for me as I follow up with all the traumas that come in from Friday evening until I arrive Monday morning.  Some Mondays aren’t so bad and others, well, let’s just say that was yesterday. Before I could get to the traumas, the entire morning and some of the afternoon, I spent working closely with a heartbreaking event that happened not long after I arrived.  I continue to be blessed to work with truly gifted people in trauma and be with those families who are looking for something to hold onto.  I don’t believe there will ever be a time I’m not humbled by the work I encounter every single day.

The day caused me to be incredibly drained, emotionally and mentally and I still had the traumas to follow up with.  By the time I got home, I was completely done.  I sat on the couch, had a smoothie and ended up taking a catnap. I was so exhausted; I made myself go to bed around 8:30. I slept an incredible 8 hours before my alarm went off.  Minus that one moment when the kitty decided to pat me on the face with her paw.

These 8 hours of sleep that I made myself do the night before extended my blessing into today.  I felt so good today.   Yes, today was a bit easier than yesterday however I simply felt good. I laughed. I had healthy meals. Good conversations.  I wrote a couple of important emails that needed to be done, complete with clarity and truth.  And one has already led to a coffee and conversation invite.  Then I went to the gym after work, which I had not done in a while. It was a good day.

So there might be something to this whole sleep thing.  More importantly, staying focused on all the blessings over these past twelve days, in the midst of all the “stuff” certainly helped.

That may have been my Epiphany.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

