First Baptist, Richmond AND Alaska in One Day

Sunday, the Fifth Day of Christmastide

As I continue to share the blessings I receive during the Christmastide Season, I can’t help but think of First Baptist, Richmond.

I am still searching for a church to call “home” here in Greenville.  I have not found one where I’ve felt connected, theologically and personally.  I haven’t been able to find one that I can call “church” for me.

So it was a blessing when I was able to visit my home church in Richmond IMG_2362yesterday.  First Baptist, Richmond is a beautiful church, inside and out.  The leadership is spirit-led and the congregation is focused on Jesus as they bring the Kingdom of Heaven to Richmond.  They know what it means to BE the church and not just on Sunday mornings.

It felt so good to be in a place where I feel welcomed.  Hugs, smiles, and prayer; music, scripture and sermon – First Baptist is all that, and then some.  It is always good to see friends and family.  You can read more about my love for this place here.  You can also read more about the church here: First Baptist, Richmond. 

And in a completely different part of the country, while I traveled back to Greenville, I got to talk to my favorite person in Alaska.  It was a joy to talk to my friend April.  She is doing great and I couldn’t be more proud of her work.   I met IMG_0038April back when I worked in Boston.  She took me to my first Red Sox game at Fenway.  She is as introverted as I am, until you start talking about the Red Sox, triathlons or The West Wing, then you can’t get her to stop.  She is a great aunt to her little Ben and will be an aunt again when her niece comes in early spring.   I don’t know anyone who is more courageous and bold as April is. Don’t mess with her. We do have conflict when Boston College and Duke play against one another, but we can see past her weaknesses and know all will be well. (hee hee) Although I wouldn’t recommend following her and a map at the same time, she is a wonderful person and friend. April is my little sister.  It was such a joy to talk to her yesterday.

From Richmond to Alaska, it was good to be in both.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

