For All the Warriors

Alyssa Bonagura has been on my mind a lot lately.  She’s been on my ITunes playlist and Alyssa Bonagurain my ears quite a bit. Her spirit has been in my heart and in my dancing, crazy, let loose and fly the arms dancing.  I’ve written about Alyssa before and her song, “I Make My Own Sunshine”.  She dropped a CD called Love Hard, back in October that has taken me for an unbelievable loop of emotion and spirit.  I find myself dancing and singing to her music as the ears are plugged into my phone or computer. I sing out loud to her in my car and bedroom. I bet my cat wishes her ears were plugged too.   For 25 years old, Alyssa is incredibly gifted and beyond her years in truth and spirit.   Alyssa is beautiful inside and out.  Her music has spoken to me in ways I never imagined and I had the courage enough to tell her myself.  I believe in letting someone know how much of an impact he or she has made on your life and Alyssa Bonagura is no exception.

There is one song I’ve listened to lately that has hit home personally.  “Warrior” is a song about incredible strength and faith during a difficult journey.  It’s about facing fear and negativity with hope and truth.   Last night, I went through the music to write down the lyrics.  Then I went to some videos to hear the lyrics, to be sure I had them right in the first place :).

This song “Warrior” has given me encouragement and spirit to fight through some battles I’ve been facing. It’s been a blessing to have her voice with me on the journey.  However I found out through last night’s research that Alyssa had a specific person in mind when she wrote this.  She wrote this song for a friend who is fighting cancer.  The song is not limited to cancer, but to those fighting for their life in whatever way that may be.  We have scars. We have failures. We have darkness.  Alyssa reminds me there is a light in the darkness; it is a light of truth and strength.  We have a shield of faith and an armor of love that will help us through the fears and the falls.

I am thinking of dear people who have fought cancer in ways I can’t even imagine.  Kristi Garstang, Bill Sigler, Uncle Tom Pruett, Alyssa Divers, Heather Sanborn, Meesha Joshua, Sandy Jenkins, Jamie Cox, Anne Pitts, Kevin Boettger and many more.  I’ve met many more while doing my chaplain residency. Their courage is inspiring.  There are a couple of people on this list that fought the battle until their last breath, however they families continue to fight on and this song is for them too.  You are all Warriors to me.  And for Lynn Litchfield Divers, it didn’t get pass me that the artist who wrote this song is named Alyssa.   I think your Alyssa would have approved of this Alyssa.  She has a spirit, beauty, passion and truth that your sweet Alyssa would have loved.  I know Lexie will like her.  Be sure she listens to, “Make My Own Sunshine” as well. I can see a recital coming out of that one!

Here is a video of an “acoustic” version of Alyssa Bonagura’s song, Warrior. I like her intimacy in the moment. She has helped me in many wonderful and miraculous ways.  May her gifts of music and life bring you hope as well.   Please, listen and then go to ITunes and get the rest of her music.  She will be worth it.  Alyssa has already made a difference for me.  May she make a difference for you.  The lyrics are printed below the video.

Staring down the face of fear
Gotta keep breathin
When the negative is all you hear
Gotta keep believin
 
‘Cause in the dark there is a light
A truth that keeps on burning bright
Makes you brave to fight the fight
And shout the battle cry….
 
You’ll never stop me, I’m a warrior.
When I fall down, I get stronger
Faith’s the shield and love’s the armor
Oooh oh oh oh ohhhhhhhhh
I’m a warrior. I’m a warrior.
I’m a warrior. Warrior.
 
Every scar on my skin
Is a beautiful reminder
Of a moment where I didn’t give in
And I walked through fire
‘Cause in the dark there is a light
A truth that keeps on burning bright
Makes you brave to fight the fight
And shout the battle cry
 
You’ll never stop me. I’m a warrior
When I fall down, I get stronger
Faith’s the shield and love’s the armor
Oooh oh oh oh ohhhhhhhhh
 
(times 2)
I will keep the hope alive
I will find the strength inside
I will keep the hope alive
I am a warrior and I will survive
 
You’ll never stop me. I’m a warrior
When I fall down, I get stronger
Faith’s the shield and love’s the armor
Oooh oh oh oh ohhhhhhhhh
I’m a warrior. I’m a warrior.
I’m a warrior. Warrior.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For All the Warriors

  1. Kristi Garstang says:

    Thanks, Linda! I love this song and it’s message. It is very well stated. Especially the part that reads, “Every scar on my skin Is a beautiful reminder Of a moment where I didn’t give in.” I was just talking about my “tattoo” marks and scars the other day and how it’s also a reminder to live each moment to its fullest. One of our fellow church members, Colleen, from our time living in PA is currently in hospice for pancreatic cancer. She has fought an incredible fight and been an amazing warrior. But she will soon be with her savior in heaven. She will leave behind a husband and three lovely daughters. Please keep them in your prayers. Thanks again for thinking of me!

Leave a Reply

