Be Still…….When?

It’s time…..

….but I can’t seem to “be still”

My time at FBC Newton is over. I turned in my keys and my Costco card.  It’s been an exhausting couple of months between packing, preaching my last sermon, coordinating the Youth Sunday service, saying goodbye to some wonderful children/youth, and to a couple of dear friends.  In the midst of all of that, I have had to work on moving, transitional issues, and completing a three day family systems workshop (that brings a whole mess of homework with it).  And wouldn’t you know it…there are still things creeping up that need to be packed. How does that happen?

It’s difficult when you don’t have control over when you leave and when you have to say goodbye.  Time gets away from you. Words escape your mind.  Just like an anticipated death, you know it’s coming and you think you have prepared for it emotionally, mentally, and spiritually; but alas, it still hits you hard.  I am grateful for God’s grace when I can’t seem to find it myself.

Through all of this, I have found it very hard to “be still”.  I can tell in my sporadic communication with you.  It seems to be a continued pattern.  There is so much going on in my mind and heart that I can’t seem to grasp a moment of stillness, even in my thoughts.

I begin the trek to Richmond on Saturday.  A friend is coming up to drive the truck and the kitty and I will be in the car.   Oddly enough, it might be in my car where I will find a moment of stillness and can begin to discern all that I have been through.   It is the journey down the coast that I can reflect on the journey that just took place.  From the laughter and the tears to the learning and the teaching, I have so much to consider, to digest, to discern….but please God, before I can work through all of that, can I have a moment of stillness with you?

Psalm 46:10:  Yes Linda. You can be still and know that I am your God.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Be Still…….When?

  1. Heather says:

    Praying for peace of mind in the still moment and the long drive. ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

