Rooted and Grounded in Love

Ephesians 3:16-19

I pray that, according to the riches of his glory, he may grant that you may be strengthened in your inner being with power through his Spirit, and that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith, as you are being rooted and grounded in love. I pray that you may have the power to comprehend, with all the saints, what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, so that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.

I am overwhelmed by God’s grace and love for me.  Even though I am not deserving of that grace, God still loves me all the same.

If you follow this blog, you know that I have been on a bit of a roller coaster.  It seems like the ride is parked at the bottom of a hill, slowly working it’s way back up from a couple of twists and turns I wasn’t expecting.  However through this ride, God has been there right beside me. God picked me up when I fell, wiped away my tears when I cried, held my hand when I needed, cheered me on when I stood on my own, and held me in his comforting arms when I needed rest. I am overwhelmed by all that God has provided through scripture, prayer, and devotions; as well as through friends, phone calls, and unbelievable gifts.  I can hear God in the background saying, “I told you to trust me, didn’t I?”

One of those unbelievable gifts is the gift of a retreat that is allowing me to get away from the pressures of planning for an unknown future, to work on my present.  On Sunday, I am leaving to attend a ministers retreat, sponsored by the Ministering to Ministers Foundation.  It is a wonderful program, based in Virginia that works to support ministers.  The retreat was provided to help me spiritually, physically, emotionally, and mentally, through all the changes and transitions taking place in my life.

You see the Ephesians scripture at the top?  As I take part in this retreat, that scripture will be my focus.  The retreat will help to strengthen my inner being in ways I don’t even know yet.  This entire experience will do the same.  I will continue to be filled with all the fullness of God.  What a beautiful reminder of God’s love for me – that I do what I can to make that happen.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rooted and Grounded in Love

  1. Karla says:

    Thinking of you and hold you in the light…

Leave a Reply

