Jesus in Gethsemane

Matthew 26:39: And going a little farther, he threw himself on the ground and prayed, ‘My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from me; yet not what I want but what you want.

NOTE: This entry is from my Maundy Thursday post last year.  Is it the same? Yes. Do I feel the same? Yes.  So why not reflect and remember what Jesus encountered and sacrificed.

For a long time I thought that Jesus was perfect, the superhero’s superhero, the one who did all that he was told without question and I thought it was His decision to die on the cross. Then, I went to seminary and had to write an exegetical paper on Jesus’ Prayer of Gethsemane. I cried when I studied it and wrote about the impact of the scripture. I studied the depth and meaning behind the words and found the tears. Calling our Lord, “Abba” or father, daddy, dad…Jesus asked him to stop this from happening, do what was possible to not make Jesus go through this suffering and death. Then in the same breath, he gave into God and said, whatever your will, I will do.

This week, I have been remembering that before we can celebrate the Risen Christ, we need to reflect on the steps that took Him to the Cross. Let us not forget the sacrifice that was made, the pain that was suffered, and the forgiveness that was graciously given. I pray that I learn a little something from the journey that Jesus took and learn about grace, forgiveness and understanding in the midst of the pain and suffering.

What did Jesus sacrifice? What did God sacrifice? We will never ever ever understand the decisions that were made to get to this point in time. We will never ever understand the pain and agony that Jesus faced as he knelt down to pray to his Abba. We will never ever understand the grace, mercy, forgiveness and love that was shown by this “superhero”. But what comfort we have to know that Jesus understands us. He understands us so much that he got up from his knees and continued on. It may not feel too comfortable on this Holy Saturday, knowing the pain he endured and suffered for us, but it sure will feel special tomorrow.

Abba, we don’t deserve it, but we thank you for what you gave up for us. I pray that we love you enough to sacrifice a little for you too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

