There is Something About Mary

Luke 1:38Then Mary said, ‘Here am I, the servant of the Lord; let it be with me according to your word.’ Then the angel departed from her.

We have been on quite a journey through the Advent season and hopefully, found some peace, hope, joy and love on the way.  As we head into Christmastime and celebrate the birth of the Christ child, I can’t help but think of Mary.   Can you even imagine the Advent journey she went on?  I can’t but I can imagine that it was challenging to say the least.

Out of nowhere, God chose Mary to bear this child.  God trusted her, loved her, protected her, and called her to be a servant.  “How can this be?” she asked.  She is frightened.  She is worried.   She is humbled. Yet she accepts the call with three simple words: “Here Am I“.   Wow.  Talk about courage, trust and faith.    She accepted this with a humbled heart and a faithful spirit.

When I went through my ordination council, my theological credo had a comment about Mary, the Holy Spirit that guided her and how that same Holy Spirit guides us today.  One of the ministers questioned why I included that statement in my credo because he thought it sounded “too catholic” to include Mary.    I explained the only way I knew how, “Well, she did have a pretty important part in the whole process.”   Hopefully he knows that too.

One of my favorite pieces is “Breathe of Heaven” by Amy Grant.  She speaks from Mary’s point of view and from her heart.  I invite you to listen to the words.  Consider what Mary did for all of us but more importantly, what she did for God. There is something about Mary that is quite special and we need to recognize that.  She did play a important part on this journey as well as on mine – and for that, I am truly grateful.

This entry was posted in faith, focus, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

