My Mickey Mouse Watch

Psalm 43:5 “…He will make me smile again for he is my God!”mickey watch

Proverbs 17:22 “A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a downcast spirit dries up the bones…”

Faith without laughter leads to dogma, and laughter without leads to despair.” -Conrad Hyers, Theologian

Since I can remember, I have always like anything related to Disney. I have many of the old Disney movies and I even have a Mickey Mouse telephone.  There was something about Mickey’s smile and Goofy’s laugh that just made my day.  When I was an elementary school teacher, I had a different Disney watch for every day of the week. The kids loved to see which one I would wear next. That was over 12 years ago.

A lot has changed for me over the past 12 years and for whatever reason, I lost all those watches.   If it’s possible, I believe I lost some of the spirit that came with having Mickey hanging on my wrist. The subjects of humor, laughter, and childlike wander came up for me in several ways a few months ago and I decided to bring Mickey back and I purchased a new Mickey Mouse watch. I brought a little bit of me back into my daily life.  It even plays the Mickey Mouse March.  Oddly enough, it has been a great conversation piece with many people I have talked to….adults included!

Having this watch reminds me of the person that God made me to be. Having this watch is a reminder that it is ok to smile and laugh, to enjoy the childlike behavior that makes everyone a little less intimidating, a little less scared, and a little more open to what the world has to offer, because once, we were all children of God…and in fact, we still are.

Remember that Jesus said, “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Whoever becomes humble like this child is the greatest among the kingdom of heaven. Whoever welcomes one such child in my name – welcomes me. (Matthew 18:1-5)

Whatever traits that God gave you to make you special, that make you an individual, that gives you the opportunity to shine in the way that God intended, don’t hide them in a bushel or lose them in the shuffle. Don’t let anyone tell you that they are not acceptable. Wear them proudly and know that God is smiling down, proud of the child that is showing within.

This entry was posted in faith, God, scripture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Mickey Mouse Watch

  1. Celeste says:

    I love this! I still have my Mickey Mouse watch from when I was about 7!

Leave a Reply

