Stay Focused on God

Psalm 91:14-16 (The Message) If you’ll hold on to me for dear life,” says God, “I’ll get you out of any trouble. I’ll give you the best of care if you’ll only get to know and trust me. Call me and I’ll answer, be at your side in bad times; I’ll rescue you, then throw you a party. I’ll give you a long life, give you a long drink of salvation!


On Monday I had the wonderful opportunity to spend the day in Scituate, Massachusetts. It’s a beautiful fishing town on the coast with..wait for it, a lighthouse. Every once in a while, I need to “run away” to God, when I feel disconnected, spiritually drained, confused, or just simply tired. I am sure we have all felt that at some point in time. Being around a lighthouse surrounded by ocean water is THE place for me to do that, taking me back to my days in Nags Head.

I was literally surrounded by water as I sat on the jetty that extended out from the lighthouse. I stayed there for over two hours, where I read from Henri Nouwen’s book, “The Way of the Heart.  Then I reflected on everything that has been happening on my recent journey, as I just sat and listened to God.   I listened to the wind, the waves, and the life surrounding me and the one phrase that kept coming up was “Stay Focused…Stay Focused…Stay Focused”.

It was a gentle reminder that life is not always comfortable. In fact, it can be pretty rocky at times – notice the jetty?? However, I don’t believe life should be comfortable. How else are we going to learn about our faith, our strength, and our trust in God, as well as our trust from God to reach up and be who God knows we can become? That can be done when we stay focused on God, allowing God to be the center of everything we do. As ministers, we have to keep focused on the center of our calling or else, we lose God’s purpose for that call…and our acceptance of that call. Don’t allow the criticisms, the struggles, the challenges, the fear, or the waves  (even the ones in your head) to come crashing down against all that you have done to get this far.  Stay focused on God…God will answer and you will be rescued, in more ways than you ever imagined.

This entry was posted in faith, focus, God, scripture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stay Focused on God

  1. Spenge says:

    Um, how did you know what’s going on in my head? 🙂

    Thank you for your words, your reminder to stay focused, and your encouragement, Linda. May we both stay focused.

Leave a Reply

