Who Am I?

“Because you are precious in my sight, and honored, and I love you, I give people in return for you, nations in exchange for your life.” – Isaiah 43:4

So, “Who am I”? As we journey through Lent, that question keeps coming up for me. How would you answer the question? In light of a recent retreat, I find myself answering the question with a question…“Who am I to God?” In the world of ministry, you find yourself wanting to please so many people that if you are not careful, you forget the person that God has made in you. If you don’t have a strong sense of self, you will try to fit into a mold that the people are forcing you into. You forget the person that God made in you because you are in fact, not being you. You are being the person that they want you to be.

Who are we trying to impress? Who is the person that we are supposed to be listening to and serving in the midst of this identity crisis? God. I was recently reminded of this identity with a song by a Christian group known as “Casting Crowns”…a song titled oddly enough, “Who Am I?” It was performed at my ordination service.journey

Who am I?
That the Lord of all the earth,
Would care to know my name,
Would care to feel my hurt.
Who am I?

That the bright and morning star,
Would choose to light the way,
For my ever wandering heart.

Bridge:
Not because of who I am,
But because of what you’ve done.
Not because of what I’ve done,
But because of who you are.

Chorus:
I am a flower quickly fading,
Here today and gone tomorrow,
A wave tossed in the ocean,

A vapor in the wind.
Still you hear me when I’m calling,
Lord, you catch me when I’m falling,
And you’ve told me who I am.
I am yours.

Do we jeopardize who God has made in us, when we try to fit into a mold that was not made by God? What are we saying to God? What are we saying to the people? After all that God has done for me; after all that God has provided and has made for me to become the person God wants me to be, what does it say to my Creator when I try to shape myself to be like other people? What does it say to my Creator if I am not ME and I try to be somebody else?

Someone once told me that if we try to be someone we are not, then we are denying the person that God intended us to be. Who are you? How have you become the person that God made? Do you try to fit a mold of the people around you? Do you try to put a square block into a round hole? Consider your answers to these questions as you travel through Lent and remember this – according to Isaiah, God has already called us precious children; we have already been called by name and we have already been made in GOD’s image.

This entry was posted in faith, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

