Why Proverbs? It has to do with a Lighthouse

As I work on this new “blought” thing, I have been focusing on some scripture that keeps coming to mind. Proverbs 3:5-6 is my “favorite” if you will. I have a hard time saying favorite because there are many scriptures that speak to me for different reasons, at different times of the year, even different times of the day. Right now, it’s Proverbs.

Currituck Lighthouse, NC

Currituck Lighthouse, NC


Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not rely on your own insight. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

This is on my mind because I have a lot going on in my mind right now and I am looking for answers. In order to find the answers, you must ask the questions. Right? For me, when I ask God the questions, then I am acknowledging God and that is what we are called to do. I want so much to be able to rely on my own insight and understanding, but sometimes – many times, I just don’t understand. When I don’t understand, I get frustrated. When I am frustrated, I start losing trust. And when I lose trust, that is not easy to get back. That is when I have to turn to this scripture. I have got to trust God that things are going to come out straight, BUT that does not mean that I can’t be angry. You see, that is another way in which we can acknowledge God. God is fine with us being angry. Look at Job. God wants us to have emotions and wants us to fight back. When we do, that means we are talking to God and when we talk to God, we are acknowledging God aren’t we?

When I try to rely on my own insight, that is when things go wrong. I tend to lose out on what God is teaching me. My own insight wants me to fix everything and I can’t. I want to answer everything on my own and I can’t. I want to be angry and take things into my own hands and I can’t. My will gets me into trouble and I have to remember that it’s not my will. What I have to do is rely on the path that is ahead of me and it will eventually straighten out – no matter how far away that will be.

People ask me why I collect lighthouses. It has to do with this scripture and an experience that happened to me in 2001. I had been laid off for about six months when I went to visit some lighthouses in North Carolina. I was so angry at God, I couldn’t see a straight path anywhere near me. On this particular Friday night, there was an electrical storm. Power lines were down. No electricity at the hotel. Rain shot across like needles and the wind, howling. I got in my car and ran away to the Currituck Lighthouse. In the darkest of storms, the thickest fog, the painful rain and gritty sand, I stopped the car and found myself in front her. I stopped the car and looked up, only to find the Beacon Light of Currituck shining as bright as the sun. In the midst of the storm, through the clouds and rain, there she was – a reminder that when you acknowledge God, no matter how angry you are, you just might find a straight path. You may not be able to see it now, but you will.

This entry was posted in scripture, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

