I am Humbled – A Hospital Chaplain’s Prayer

No matter how big the call, no matter how small, you have no idea what God is calling you to do, but God needs you. He needs me.  He needs all of us.  -Fr Mychal Judge (From his last homily, Sept 10, 2011)

I come into these walls,
            Unknown of what the day will hold.
                        Uncertain of where God
                                    Will guide my path.

I have no idea
            Where I will go
                        Or what I will do,
                                    When I walk these halls. 
 
I know I am called here
            For those in despair,
                        For those in celebration,
                                    And for those in grief.
           
I am called to be here for You, 
            And I am humbled.
 
I am humbled by these moments.
            When I enter a room,
                         I am a presence, a healing touch,
                                    A comforting word, or a moment of grace.
 
I am humbled by these moments.
            When I celebrate life, mourn death,
                        Standing in awe of resurrection and I wonder
                                    How is this even possible?
 
I am humbled by these moments.
            As I enter these walls,
                        For You have asked me to. 
 
I come to You this day and ask for your healing touch,
            Your comforting words and your moments of grace;
                        To reassure me, hold me, and provide whatever I need,
                                    So I may be that presence for You.
 
I am humbled and ask You now;
            Hold me, guide me, and carry me
                        As I enter this day with You.  Amen.

(c) 2011, Linda C. Moore

This entry was posted in prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I am Humbled – A Hospital Chaplain’s Prayer

  1. Rev. Curtis R. Freed says:

    Rev. Moore :

    I am a hospital chaplain with Spectrum Health in Grand Rapids, MI. I especially liked this prayer. I would like to share it with my fellow chaplain colleagues. I would like to color-print the prayer and laminate it to give to the chaplains that I work with. It will not be sold to anyone. I am wondering if I have your permission to do so. Please reply to my e-mail.

  2. Gloria Shull says:

    Linda, this is a beautiful prayer. I am the administrative assistant in the pastoral care department and would love to share it with our hospital chaplains through our newsletter. Would you give me permission to do so? We would print the copyright info and your blog website with it. Thank you for your consideration.

    • educatemoore says:

      Gloria, I am humbled and honored that you would ask to use my prayer. You are more than welcomed to put the prayer in your newsletter. By all means, you have my permission. Thank you. And thank you for the work you do as administrative assistant. I speak for all chaplains when I say, we aren’t able to do our work ministering to others, without you there to minister to us.

Leave a Reply

