I was Somebody, Even Before I Met Jesus

“I know I’m somebody, ‘cause God don’t make no junk.”

Those words have been in my life since I was a little girl and found a cute poster with that statement.  It hold just as much truth today as it did back then.  That statement brings me to a new entry.

There is something that’s been bothering me for a while and I wasn’t sure how much it bothered me until recently. At the same time, I have been a part of some humbling and sacred moments over the past few months that weigh heavy on my heart.  These feelings have been in contrast to one another: humbled moments and heavy heart, bothered words and heavy heart.

What has bothered me?  Not long ago, I heard someone share his beliefs on Jesus Christ. More specifically, who we are before and after accepting Jesus Christ as Lord.  I heard him say, and with confidence to back his statement, that we are nobody until we meet Jesus Christ.  We become somebody only when we accept Jesus Christ. I couldn’t believe what I heard and I have been racking my brain about it since.  It so many ways, I have been trying to give him the benefit of the doubt. Maybe he was trying to say we are people but our lives are forever changed when we accept Jesus Christ.  Maybe he was saying how great it is to know Jesus Christ and knowing Him motivates me to be a better person.   But he didn’t say any of those things.  He said, people are nobodies until we accept Jesus Christ as Lord.

Please don’t judge the person, because he is somebody.  Maybe deep down he meant something different and just came out this way.  As I continue to learn and grow from the  sacred moments of chaplaincy, I cannot for the life of me, accept what he is saying as truth.   It’s his opinion, but that is all.   My opinion, based on Isaiah 43, the Lord, OUR Lord God, called each and every person by name and said, “You are precious in my sight, and honored, and I love you.” This was said BEFORE Jesus Christ came into the picture.  And I believe wholeheartedly that people are somebodies even if they never meet Jesus Christ.  I believe I was somebody before I met Jesus Christ too.

Two specific examples come to mind for me.  Two moments in my role as a chaplain that changed my life, in ways I don’t know yet.  The first involved meeting a precious little boy, who was born too early and never took a breath of life.  As I provided a blessing over the baby, the parents and siblings were in great agony, over this precious soul.  They knew that their baby boy was somebody special and he never had a chance to meet Jesus Christ.  After we were done, the parents said they were ready for me to take him.  I left the room with their precious son and carried him down the hallway to prepare him for his eternal rest. I held him gently in my arms and looked at his angelic face, and whispered the words, “You are precious in His sight and He has called you by the name ____. For you are loved. God bless you baby boy. God bless you.”  I will never forget that moment or his face for the rest of my life.  That precious baby boy was definitely somebody special, to the parents, to me and to God.

The second happened recent enough that the emotions are still fresh in my heart and mind, as the tears well up in my eyes.  I was called to one of the units because a patient was declining and mechanical support was being removed. The patient was up in years and disease made life terminal.  When I got there I found out, for reasons unknown to me, that family and friends would not be present.  It didn’t hit me until after there was prayer that the patient was going to die alone.  I left the room to write on the chart, but I found myself not wanting to leave the unit.  I sat in front of the door for a while when God led me to sit by the patient’s side.  For the last 45 minutes of this precious life, I sat beside this precious soul, held a lifeless hand, and gently whispered “You are precious in His sight and He has called you by the name _____. For you are loved. God bless you precious soul. May God bless you and keep you.”  I quietly prayed one last blessing and he took his last breath.  He was gone.  I have no idea if this soul knew Jesus Christ before my visit, but I have no doubt that this precious soul knew God and God knew this precious soul. I am humbled that God allowed my physical presence to represent God’s loving presence for this precious soul.  I have no doubt that this person was somebody, even though I have no idea if this soul knew Jesus Christ.  God knew this soul, called by name and that made all the difference in the last breath, as our Heavenly Parent carried this precious child into the loving arms of comfort and eternal life.

We are all precious in God’s sight, no matter what we believe or who we believe in.  Before there was a New Testament, there was an Old Testament where you will find the words “You are precious in my sight and honored and I love you.” I have been called by name and so have you.  You are somebody and so am I.  Why?  Because God said so.

This photo collage was inspired by that little boy I met and held in my arms.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I was Somebody, Even Before I Met Jesus

  1. titus2woman says:

    I appreciate this very much! And I even go as far as to appreciate the strengths and talents of everyone, knowing they are gifts of the LORD even if they are not recognized as such by their owner. Every person is worthy of being treated with love and respect!!!! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

